Arguably the best WP track and field team

Follow by Email

THE all-conquering 1986 WP team so-called during sports isolation. On the day WP lost three races, the men’s 100m to a short little flyer (stocky) from EP by the name of Joseph Jonas who had drawn an outside lane along the Dal Josofat Stadium to win in a highly respectable time of 10,4 seconds. Boland’s Anthony Simpson won the men’s 1500m and 5000m walk ahead of Colin Anders (WP), and Boland’s most popular race walker Thys de Vries.

Web WP 1986
The names of the WP athletes, not in sequence in the respective rows in the team photo, from memory, are: In the front row: Russell Joubert, Martin Saayman, Kevin Africa, Thabiet Abrahams, John September Jantjie Marthinus, Clement du Plessis, Craig Steyn, Riedewaan Abdullah, Nazeem Smith and Mohammad Dawood. In the middle row: Fairoez Cassiem (management), Tessa Hefle, Sandra Petersen, Gawa Moyce, Vanessa Orr, Amiena Dollie, Mercia Misroll, Jowaine Parrott, Suezette Arendse, Shaheeda Majiet, Desiree Williams, Valda Booysen, Sharon Klein, Yolanda Titus. In the back row: Reggie Dreyer (management), Nathan Sassman, Mark Lindoor, Willem Jansen, Colin Anders, Michael Toll, Shaun Vester, Freddie Damon, Hermanus Williams, Tobias Philander, Bernard Adams, Henry de Grass, Julian Williams, Teano Patience, Cecil Witbooi, Shaun Phillips, Fred Grovers and Esmond Zimri (captain).
Web Womens team 1986
The names from memory. Back row, from left, Alan Parrott (management), Fairoez Cassiem (management), Yolanda Titus, Gawa Moyce, Vannessa Orr, Valda Booysen, Natasha de Stadler, skip two, Claudine Fisher and Reginald Dreyer (management). Front row, from left, Annelise Meiring, Susan Williams, Amiena Dollie, Sandra Petersen, Suezette Arendse, Jowaine Parrott, Shaheeda Majiet, Desiree Williams, Janine Turner, and Tessa Hefele.

One thought on “Arguably the best WP track and field team

  • April 13, 2020 at 2:57 pm

    Dear Publisher, I can’t believe that I actually managed possibly the best WP track and field team with Reginald Dreyer and Alan Parrott, and still we don’t get recognition.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *