Changing of the guard at 1977 SA champs

Follow by Email

THE 1977 South African Amateur Athletics Board (SAAAB) Track and Field Championships in Port Elizabeth saw the changing of the guard and good a number of records being shattered with the barefooted Errol Noble of Western Province Senior Schools Sports Union (WPSSSU) leading the charge.

Noble won the junior men’s high jump in a record height of 1,91m on the Gelvandale Track, a municipal venue with the gross lack of grass on the arena. The track itself was cinder.

Errol Noble
Errol Noble, the barefooted SA record holder.

At the same championships, Charles Cavernelis of Boland beat Patrick Dowman of Western Province in the senior men’s high jump when he set a new SAAAB high jump record of 1,98m.

Boland’s Ronel Juries crowned her seasoned with a magnificent double in the 400m and 800m (see all records set on the day, below).

The evergreen Johan Muller of Western Province had a field day in the javelin and shot put events.

In the junior men’s 100m Leon Jansen of Eastern Province set a new 100m record of 10,8 secs, equalling Edmund Lewis’ 100m record set in Paarl in 1974.

Ian Rutgers did likewise in the junior men’s 200m clocking 22,1 secs, equalling Edmund’s Lewis’ 200m record set in Durban in 1975.

In the senior women’s section, Sharon Alexander (sprints) and Ruwayda Henri (sprints) acquitted them well of their tasks.

Young Suezette

In the junior women’s section, you had Sharon Hanslo and Denise Haupt coming through in the 100m and 200m.  In the 800m you had J Leo and Olga Howard dominating the 800m.  S Cupido and Maureen Lewin shaped up in the junior women’s high jump event, with Cupido setting a SAAAB record of 1,58m in 1977.

A very young Suezette Arendse (Boland), the future sprint queen of Western Province, was the winner in the junior women’s long jump event at the same championships.

All of these athletes either represented their provinces at senior schools or at South African senior schools level or both.

Main Photograph: Sharon Hanslo, left, and Ruwayda Henri. Henri won the 100m race.

Sharon and Victor
Victor Barron and Sharon Alexander.

The SAAAB records established in PE in 1977 include:

Senior Men

10 000m Johannes Brandt (WP) 31 minutes 37,2 seconds

4X400m A James, A Williams, A O’Ryan, G Benjamin (WP) 3 min 23,1

1500m walk Thys de Vries (Boland) 6 mins 56,8 secs

5000m walk Colin Anders (WP) 25 mins 38,5 secs

High jump Charles Cavernelis (Boland) 1,98m

Long jump R Kimfley (Eastern Province) 6,77m

Triple jump Garret Watts (Boland) 13,69m

Shot put Johan Muller (WP) 13,45m

Javelin Johan Muller (WP) 54,32m

Discus Victor Barron (WP) 35,41m

Junior Men

100m Leon Jansen (EP) 10,8 secs (equalled) Edmund Lewis (Boland) 10,8 (Paarl 1974)

200m Ian Rutgers (WP) 22,1 (equalled) Edmund Lewis (Boland) 22,1 (Durban 1975)

High jump Errol Noble (WPSSSU) 1,91m

Discus Stafford Geduldt (EP) 39,90m

Ronel and Suezette Web Insert
Ronel Juries and Suezette Arendse.

Senior Women

400m Ronel Juries (Boland) 59,1 secs

800m Ronel Juries (Boland) 2 mins 22,9 secs

Shameela Sadhama (Natal) 5 mins 5,4 secs

4X100m C Isaacs, R Henri, B Sharp, S Sadhama (Natal) 52 secs

1500m walk Verna Franz (Boland) 8 mins 16,4 secs

High jump Kalthoem Raffie (EP) and Desiree Johnson (WP) 1,50m

Long jump Kalthoem Raffie (EP) 5,19m

Shot put C Petersen (Boland) 9,70m

Javelin L Blignaut (EP) 32,69m

Discus V Petersen (Albany) 31,73m

Junior Women

4X100m Glenda Schaffers, A Meyer, Sharon Hanslo, E Petersen 51,6

High jump S Cupido (WPSSSU) 1,58m

Shot put E Brown (WPSSSU) 9,67m

Javelin E Alamacin (WPSSSU) 36,45

Discus C van Heerden (EP) 28,03

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *